NSW Transport COVID Update 29 July

The NSW Transport Update of 29 July 2021 is here

 Dear Freight Industry,

To protect the people of NSW from the evolving COVID-19 outbreak, new restrictions have been announced for the Greater Sydney Area, including Blue Mountains, Central Coast, Wollongong and Shellharbour.

The following Public Health Orders have now been published and are available here:

  •  Public Health (COVID-19 Temporary Movement and Gathering Restrictions) Amendment (No 16) Order 2021 commenced at 12:01am 29 July 2021
  • Public Health (COVID-19 Gathering Restrictions) Order (No 3) 2021 commencing at 12:01am 31 July 2021.

Residents in Fairfield, Liverpool, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Blacktown, Parramatta, George’s River and Campbelltown LGAs

Residents cannot work outside of these LGAs unless they are on the authorised workers list.

COVID-19 Testing

COVID-19 surveillance testing is required every 72 hours (3 days) for:

  • Authorised workers from the Canterbury-Bankstown
  • Healthcare workers from Blacktown, Campbelltown, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Fairfield, Georges River, Liverpool or Parramatta LGAs.

Surveillance testing requirements will be enforceable from Saturday 31 July.

Construction work

Some work is permitted to prepare for the commencement and recommencement of construction work in Greater Sydney, including Central Coast, Wollongong, Shellharbour and the Blue Mountains.

Work is not permitted at Blacktown, Campbelltown, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Fairfield, Georges River, Liverpool or Parramatta LGAs.

Preparation work includes delivery of materials or equipment, and relocation on the construction site of plant or equipment. More information about what can be carried out as part of preparation work can be found here.

Commencing at 12:01am Saturday 31 July 2021, construction sites in Greater Sydney, including Central Coast, Blue Mountains, Shellharbour and Wollongong LGAs, must have a COVID-19 Safety Plan. COVID-19 Safety Plans are mandatory for construction on any site that is not an occupied residence in Greater Sydney. Learn more here.

Construction workers are not on the Authorised Workers list.

For suburbs that are partly within the local government area boundary, refer to the map to confirm the restrictions that apply to a specific location here.

For more information on the restrictions please visit www.nsw.gov.au/covid-19/rules/affected-regions.

Changes to border pass requirements for QLD

From 1am tomorrow, heavy vehicles without an approved Freight and Logistics pass will not be permitted to cross the border and will be turned around.

Drivers will be required to prove they have completed the necessary COVID-19 testing regime. Visit here for more information.

Arriving into NSW from interstate

In addition to the above announcements, we have received a number of enquiries from industry about interstate travel. Please see information below to help guide your freight journeys, including information about the changes to the border bubble for Victoria.

When travelling to NSW from another state or territory, rules and restrictions apply if you have been in an affected area, area of concern or a place of high concern.

Rules apply to people who:

  • are entering NSW from an affected area
  • have been to a place of concern or place of high concern during the time period specified in the COVID-19 concerns notice.

Before you plan to travel to NSW make sure to check current rules and restrictions in place. More information on the current restrictions for people arriving from interstate is available on the NSW Government website.

Arriving into NSW from QLD, SA and VIC 

You will need to complete a travel declaration and follow the rules for interstate travellers.

Here are the links to the travel declaration forms for SA, VIC and QLD.

Arriving into NSW from ACT, TAS, NT and WA

There is currently no travel declaration required if you are travelling from ACT, TAS, NT and WA.

You will need to follow the rules for interstate travellers.

Travelling from NSW to other states and territories

For the latest information you are advised to visit the website for the state or territory you will be travelling to, provided in the links below. We advise you keep up to date as requirements could change at short notice.

Victorian border community update

The City of Wagga Wagga, Hay Shire Council, Lockhart Shire Council and Murrumbidgee Council will no longer be included in the cross border bubble.

These local government areas will be included under the Extreme Risk Zone from 11:59pm 27 July, in line with the rest of NSW, and residents will need an exemption, exception, transit permit or specified worker permit to enter Victoria.

For information about cross-border communities with Victoria, visit here.

Thank you for your continued efforts to keep freight moving safely and we will keep you updated on the latest advice on NSW requirements as they are released.


Susie Harwood
Executive Director Freight
Customer Strategy and Technology
Transport for NSW


Forgot Password?

Join Us